womens basketball team

Athletic Sidebars

Quick clips, for your scrolling enjoyment...

Engineering alumni

Laker Hockey Returned to Prominence in 2018-19

In 2018-19, Laker hockey (23-13-2, 16-10-2-0 Western Collegiate Hockey Association) won its most games in a season since 1995-96, recorded its longest winning streak since 1996-97 (seven games), swept Ferris State in a road series for the first time since 1993-94, swept Michigan Tech in a series for the first time since 1983-84, won 16 WCHA Player of Week and six WCHA Player of the Month awards, had four All-WCHA Team selections, 14 WCHA All-Academic Team honorees, five WCHA Scholar-Athletes, a Google Cloud Academic All-District® Men's At-Large Team selection, a Hockey Humanitarian Award nominee, two Hobey Baker Award nominees, claimed the first Great Lakes Invitational Championship in program history and captured its first-ever WCHA Playoffs series win.

Saluja scanned for statue

Men’s and Women’s Tennis Teams Return to GLIAC Tournament

The Lake Superior State men’s and women’s tennis teams both returned to the GLIAC tournament during 2018-19. The women’s team made the tournament for the first time since 2011-12 and the men’s team made a postseason appearance for the first time since 2009-10. The women’s team was led by AlexiAnn Drouin, who was named All-GLIAC First Team. Nadege Koua was named All-GLIAC Second Team and Tara Harvey was an All-GLIAC Honorable Mention. The men’s team went 4-4 in GLIAC play to earn the fourth seed in the GLIAC Tournament. Team captain Joe Gilman garnered All-GLIAC First Team honors and Krishan Taneja was named to the All-GLIAC Third Team.

Adrew Rubinstein

Track and Field Takes Steps forward at 2019 GLIAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships

The LSSU men’s and women’s track and field teams both had improved performances at the 2019 GLIAC Outdoor Track and Field Championships. The men’s team finished eighth with 13.5 points, while the women's team garnered 5.5 points to finish 11th. Both finishes were improvements over last season's outdoor championships when the men tallied five points and the women garnered one point. The men's team score is its best since 2017 (23 points) and the women's score is its highest since 2015 (14 points). Roger Willford scored a team-high 7.5 points for the men’s team and Riley Collins scored a team-leading four points for the women’s team.

facult promotions

Marquardt Signs Contract to Play Professional Basketball in Bolivia

Following the 2018-19 school year, Lake Superior State student-athlete Blake Marquardt signed a contract to play professional basketball with Ingavi La Paz of Bolivia-Libobasquet. Marquardt, who graduated this past spring with a degree in business administration, was a member of the LSSU men's basketball team for four seasons (2015-19). In his collegiate career, Marquardt played in 93 games, including 53 starts. He scored 789 career points, while shooting 45.8% from the field, 45.1% on three-pointers and 85.3% at the free throw line. A native of Oshkosh, Wisconsin who is known for his three-point shooting ability, Marquardt made 209 three-pointers in his four seasons, which is the eighth-highest total in program history. As a junior in 2017-18, Marquardt made 83 three-pointers, which is the fourth-highest season total in program history. Marquardt tied for the program record for made three-pointers in a game with eight against Findlay University on Dec. 10, 2016. In 2017-18, he recorded the third-highest three-point shooting percentage (49.7%) in NCAA Division II Men's Basketball.

facult promotions

Six Lakers Named AHCA Division I All-American Scholars

Six members of the 2018-19 Lake Superior State hockey team have been named AHCA Division I Krampade All-American Scholars. They are Ashton Calder, Melvin Karlsson, Nick Kosoff, Jacob Nordqvist, Collin Saccoman and Pete Veillette. To be eligible for the award, presented by the American Hockey Coaches Association, student-athletes must have competed in 40% of their team's games and have earned a GPA of at least 3.60 for each semester during the academic year. Continue reading about our scholars